Music You Should Know Wednesday

Welcome to the second edition of Music You Should Know Wednesday!

In just a week, I have already compiled a list of about 40 artist/themes/etc. for future Music Wednesday posts. Needless to say, it was hard to decide who to focus on this week, but in the end, I decided to go with someone very new to me.

I’m very excited, I’m really loving this guy. He’s so new he doesn’t even have an album out yet (just an EP).  I first heard one of his songs on the Season 3 promo for The Walking Dead, and a few weeks ago he made an appearance on The Talking Dead, where he sang the song “Lead Me Home” (which was actually written for The Walking Dead).  Who is it, you ask?

Jamie N Commons. (No ‘.’ after the ‘N’)

I don’t know much about him…there’s no bio on his website or anything. But that doesn’t necessarily matter.

Jamie’s music is bluesy-rock, with a few twists and turns, that really set him apart.  His voice is deep, gritty and smokey…you would never guess just by listening that he is in his mid-twenties.

I have tried to think of someone to compare him to, just to give you a better idea of how he sounds, but that wasn’t working. So, I think the best thing you can do is just to listen.  I’ve included four songs for you to try out today: “Lead Me Home” is up first, a live performance of  “Rumble & Sway” from Conan is next, followed by “Petal 15,” (an Elvis Costello cover) and, my personal favorite, “Preacher.”

I know his style isn’t for everyone, but I really hope you enjoy his music anyway :).

Happy Wednesday!

always forever

3 comments

  1. Tienna · March 20, 2013

    I love love love his voice. It’s haunting and sexy. Kind of reminds me of Kris Kristofferson’s voice. Oh and I’m loving these posts, my friend! I’m writing a post about broadening my horizons and you are definitely doing that. Thanks a bunch!

    Like

  2. Tienna · March 20, 2013

    Oh and I just bought Lead Me Home. Score!

    Like

    • sydneyday · March 20, 2013

      I’m so glad you like him!! I wasn’t sure if anybody would or not. He’s not your everyday artist, which is why I love him. Definitely agree with the haunting/sexy thing. I can’t wait for his full album to come out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

