Music You Should Know Wednesday #3

With my ever-growing list of music to share, it’s already getting difficult to pick one each week!

For this edition, it pretty much came down to what I’ve been listening to the most over the last week (other than the Nerdist podcast, which, let’s face it, has been occupying the majority of my time–I highly recommend it if 1. you are a nerd, 2. you like to laugh, and 3. you don’t mind profanity and/or  suggestive material…cause there’s alot of both of those).

And that would be Middle Brother.

Middle Brother is a trio made up of John McCauley from Deer Tick, Taylor Goldsmith from Dawes & Matt Vasquez from Delta Spirit.  I’m a Dawes fan, and I like Deer Tick, too, but Delta Spirit is new to me (and you can be sure I will be looking into their music). They first performed together at SXSW in 2010 (one of the many festivals I HAVE to go to before I die). The more that I listen to these guys, the more I love them. Seriously, I’ve been listening every day for months & I’m still not sick of these. I listened to my favorite song of theirs (see below) 7 times yesterday, and I just fall in love with even more every time.

They are yet another indie-folk-rock band (it’s my niche, deal with it), and a raw, almost live sound, the way it should be, so what’s not to love?! To better describe them, here is a bit from their bio from Partisan Records:

“In a time when synthesizers and laptops are taking over stages, Goldsmith, McCauley and Vasquez are leading the pack of young rock songwriters who strive to carry on the tradition of figures such as Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen, and Tom Petty. Middle Brother came together in mid-2009 when the three songsmiths realized, after several on-stage collaborations, that they shared a unique vision and wanted to take it one step further, into the studio. Their songs are anthemic, soulful, passionate and confessional.”

I had a really hard time picking the songs to include. I didn’t want to end up with a million YouTube videos, but I also could only cut the list down so far. So without further ado, here’s the playlist:

  1. Portland
  2. Middle Brother (aka Ice Cream Man) – this one has a bit of profanity, just so you know. (I think it’s just one word, if I remember correctly)
  3. Someday
  4. Daydreaming
  5. Me Me Me
  6. Million Dollar Bill – This one is my favorite. I am madly in love with song, actually. I’ve been listening to it several times a day. I love the melody. I love the lyrical content. I love the haunting emotion in it. I love the raw, real emotion in their voices. It’s just a beautiful song. It’s perfection as far as I’m concerned…there isn’t a single thing that I would change about this song – not something I say every day (I have a habit of being overly critical sometimes).

I hope you enjoy!!

Happy Wednesday 🙂

VintageOne

Leave a Reply

