Music You Should Know Wednesday #4

Welcome to the fourth edition of Music You Should Know Wednesday!!!

Today, I have for you one of my all-time favorite artists to even grace this earth. I never, ever get tired of listening to this man’s voice…or his songwriting. I also love the beard. You may have heard of him, or at least heard a song or two by him, in a movie (i.e. 27 Dresses, I Love You, Man ) or a TV show (House, Bones, One Tree Hill), etc. We shall see.

Are you intrigued yet? You should be.

The brilliant man I am reffering to is none other than Ray LaMontagne.

lamontagne0820

This man possesses the best kind of voice in my humble opinion – it’s raspy and smokey and raw and sandpapery and sexy very sexy and filled with emotion…more importantly, it just makes me melt. You feel all of the emotion pouring out of him in every song. There is always a song that seems tailor-made to whatever I am feeling. One of these day, I hope have to see him live. I still haven’t, and every time I am reminded of that fact, I hate myself a little (not really hate, but you get the idea).

I love his story. He is one of six kids raised by his mom. They moved around alot, he barely graduated high school. He didn’t really think he had a place in the world. And one day, after working in a shoe factory for about a year, a song came on the radio (“Tree Top Flyer” by Stephen Stills), and, suddenly, he knew what he wanted to do with his life. He started to play and sing and write, and then, he catches the governor of Maine’s attention while playing a show for a company cookout in Portland, who sends his music to Jamie Cerreta, and I guess you can say the rest is history.

I also love that he is just himself. And he doesn’t really do what’s expected of him…he doesn’t really give interviews, he lives a very private life with his wife & kids on a farm in Massachusetts. He is a real, honest man who makes real & honest music. He’s an artist.

As you can probably tell, I truly love this man & his music. And I desperately hope that you do as well. (I bet you to pay attention to the lyrics…they are just as magical and beautiful as his voice.)

Here is the playlist (you have no idea how hard it was to pick songs, that’s why there are 13 songs – they are all my favorites, but the ones with the * are my favorites of my favorites. Make sense?):

  1. Let It Be Me*
  2. Trouble
  3. Jolene*
  4. Empty*
  5. Shelter
  6. Can I Stay*
  7. Beg, Steal or Borrow
  8. Rock and Roll and The Radio
  9. Old Before My Time*
  10. God Willin and the Creek Don’t Rise
  11. NYC is Killing Me*
  12. How Come
  13. Lessons Learned*

If you don’t fall madly in love with this man’s voice, then you need to make an appointment with the doctor (not THE Doctor, but your own personal physician) to have a cat scan done or have your ears checked…obviously, there is something wrong with you. If a medical doctor can’t help, seek out a therapist or psychiatrist. And if that fails, then you can contact The Doctor. Why not, right :)?

Enjoy!

kg love you

Leave a Reply

