Music You Should Know Wednesday!

It’s that time of the week again! I had something else planned, more of a theme, for this week, but I changed my mind this morning. I decided it was time to share the lovely Rosi Golan with you today.

I came across one of her songs several years ago on iTunes (I think) and immediately fell in love with her. More people should know about her. Her songs have been featured on shows like Vampire Diaries, One Tree Hill, etc. I love her. She always a go-to for me–when I can’t decide what I want to listen to, I just start with Rosi Golan and go from there. One song, Been A Long Day, was basically my theme song for about a year – the year after loosing my dad. I listened to it almost every day. While the lyrics don’t fit my situation exactly, it was the air of hope that stuck with me, that I prayed for and looked forward to every single time I listened to it.

And now moving on…

I recently intercepted a message sent by General Zod to Kal-El (aka Superman/Clark Kent for those of you unfamiliar with his Kryptonian name):

I’m very excited for Man of Steel.

Now, as you may have noticed, today is April 17th. Why is that significant, you ask? I will tell you why – it means the countdown is on for the release of STAR TREK: INTO DARKNESS!!! May 17th is a mere month away now…prepare yourselves for a fair bit of Star Trek-related blogging over the next month, as I am momentously excited for this.

Now for a little Boston news–a local radio station (and by local, I mean Tulsa) is trying to get #SneakersforBoston trending. What is it, exactly? It’s a campaign to get as many people as possible to wear sneakers (tennis shoes to me, I hate the word sneakers for some ridiculous reason) to work/school/etc. on Friday, April 19th. It’s a show of support and love to Boston. And for those of us in Oklahoma, Friday is already a very significant day – it’s the 18th anniversary of the OKC bombing. What timing, right? I know I will be participating. I can’t afford to send money to help, I can’t go to Boston and do anything to help, but I can do this small thing to try and show Boston that I care. Oklahoma knows what it’s like to have such a devastating event occur out of nowhere, and, while I can’t really speak for the entirety of our state, I think I do speak for most of us when I say that are hearts are with you.

And while we are on the subject of marathons/OKC bombing, I decided I want to participate in the Oklahoma City Marathon, actually the Memorial 5k, next year. That gives me just over a year to get in shape to actually be able to finish it. For those of you who I actually come in contact with, I will be needing your help to keep me on track. As me if I’m exercising, if I’m eating healthier, etc. Even if I hadn’t decided I want to do the 5k next year, I still need this. I really, REALLY want to get healthy–not just skinny, etc.–but truly healthy. ]

By the way, I still haven’t gotten caught up on the photos. Patience, please :).

Beam me up, Scotty!

wpid-preview-20.png

Leave a Reply

