It’s Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s that time of the week again: Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

It’s a rainy day in Oklahoma, and I’m loving it. I hope it rains all day. I will take all the rain we can get before the dreadful heat of summer gets here. Please no more fires–especially not within a mile of my house–I can’t handle the stress again this year.

This week’s theme is Top ten books you liked more/less than you thought you would.

And here’s my list:

  1. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – I have mentioned before how much I dislike this book & how I’ve never finished it. I really thought I would love this book, everybody seems to. I love the classics in general. But this one. No go.
  2. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky –  this one I knew I was going to like because I watched the movie before I read it, but I ended up loving it so much more than I expected.
  3. House of Night Series by P.C. & Kristen Cast – I haven’t (and won’t) read the entire series, but I did read the first 5 or 6 books. It’s supernatural, it’s set in Tulsa, it combines vampires and mythology…sounds right up my alley. But it was a let down. It was an OK series. Not terrible by any means. But I didn’t love it like I thought I would.
  4. Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – definitely loved this more than I expected, which is saying something, because I knew before I even picked the book up that I was going to love it. But I’ve basically become obsessed with the world created in this book, and in Shadow of Night. And I’m pretty sure I’m going to die before book #3 comes out.
  5. The Millennium Series by Stieg Larsson – loved these books more than I expected. I expected to really like them, but I ended up loving them. And I love the Swedish movies – so much better than the Hollywood remake (which is good, but no where near as great).
  6. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – loved so much more than I expected. As I have mentioned before, fantastic book. Will definitely go down as one of my all-time favorites.
  7. Dracula by Bram Stoker – this one I really like, but I don’t know that I love it.  I never thought that would be the case. I mean, it’s Dracula & I love vampires. I do like it a little bit more every time I read it, which is about once a year.
  8. The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks – I love movies based on Nicholas Sparks books, but until (and since) The Last Song, I have never read his books, nor have I ever had a desire to read them. I like a romance element in the books I read, but I don’t really read books that are mostly or strictly romance. However, my cousin talked me into reading this book after seeing the movie, and I have to admit, it made me cry. I really liked it, which I was not expecting. That being said, I have no desire to read any more Sparks books, and I doubt I will read this one again, but it was worth reading at least once.
  9. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – I knew I would like this book, and I did. I didn’t love it, though. Everyone went on and on about it, but, honestly, Angels & Demons, the prequel, it so much better. The movie, not so much. But the book, for me at least, blows Da Vinci out of the running.
  10. In The Woods by Tana French – Tana French has become one of my favorite authors. This was the first Dublin Murder Squad book. I picked it up probably 20 times before I finally bought it because I couldn’t’ decide if I was going to like it or not. I should never have hesitated, because I absolutely loved it and have loved all subsequent books.

So there you have it. This was a hard one for me, because my instincts about books are usually pretty spot-on, though nothing in life is 100% predictable, thank goodness. How boring would that be? Then again, after last week, I think the world probably needs a little predictability for a while.

Happy Tuesday!

wpid-preview-28.png

One comment

  1. auntadadoom · April 26, 2013

    Finally! Someone else who hates Catcher in the Rye!

    In seventh grade I had a boy very earnestly sit me down and read me the entire first chapter aloud, because it was So Meaningful and he wanted me to Understand Him. At the time I just rolled my eyes and thought of England; these days I would be in the wind before he got to the witch’s teat.

    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

