It’s Monday…I’m behind. Where did this weekend go?

Actually, I know the answer to that question. Or at least in part. Half of my weekend (yesterday) went to a massive migraine. One of the worst I have had in quite some time. And I blame my severe emotional hangover due to watching War Horse Saturday night.

How can I blame a movie for my migraine? Well, believe me, it can happen, especially when you have a total emotional breakdown watching said movie. Which I did. I stopped it four times and had to go in the other room because I was hyperventilating and crying so hard I ended up busting blood vessels under my eyes.  I couldn’t see, I was shaking all over. A few times I scream and cried so loudly I scared the dogs. It was emotional torture. But I couldn’t turn it off! I HAD to see how it ended. It’s a great movie. It really is. But I will never, EVER watch it again. I just can’t put myself through that another time–I am way to sensitive to animals, dogs and horses especially, to do that to myself again. I’m not that masochistic. Gosh, and I thought Marley & Me was bad. This was much, much worse – for me, at least.

As you may have noticed (or may not, doesn’t really matter), I didn’t blog this weekend, which means I’m behind on the Blog Everyday in May challenge! Therefore, you get three days worth!

e8034-blogeverday

May 4th – Favorite quote & why I love it:

Not easy. Not in the least. I’m a bit of a quote addict. Just a little. Ok, ok. I probably need to go to Quotaholics Anonymous (wonder if that exists somewhere?). Anyway, my favorite quote changes often – sometimes day-to-day, sometimes over a few days, or weeks…you get the idea. So the best I can do here is give my favorite quote at the moment:

“You are the books you read, the films you watch, the music you listen to, the people you meet, the dreams you have, the conversations you engage in. You are what you take from these. You are the sound of the ocean, the breath of fresh air, the brightest light and the darkest corner. You are a collective of every experience you have had in your life. You are every single day. So drown yourself in knowledge and existence. Let the words run through your veins and let the colours fill your mind.” – Unknown

“You belong somewhere you feel free.” – Tom Petty

So I gave you two. I couldn’t pick just one. And it’s my blog. I can break the rules if I want to :).

As for the first quote, I have no idea who said this or wrote this, I found it on Pinterst. It doesn’t matter, though, because agree with every single word. And that’s how I want to live my life. In pursuit of knowledge. In pursuit of experience. Since writing my most last week, or whenever it was, about finding my place in the world, I have been determined to do just that – to take steps, baby steps mostly, in a direction, ANY direction, to figure out where I’m supposed to be heading. I’m researching things I’m interested in, and one-by-one, I’m going to start DOING. Doing everything I always put off, thinking I can do it another day. I may not have another day to do it in. I don’t want to rush, that’s not really me, and some things you just have to wait for, that’s part of life. But the point is I’m moving. I’m making choices, I’m trying things, I’m not going to procrastinate my life anymore. And I’m going to decide what these things are going to be–not anyone else–I will decide what’s most important to me, here and now.

As for the Tom Petty quote: Again, I agree with every, single word. And that’s what I want to feel. I want to find that place where I feel free, truly free to be who I am at any given moment.

May 5th – Publicly express my love for a blogger friend:

Well, I’m going to publicly express my love for three friends, one of whom is also a blogger: Tienna, Adriene & Rebecca.

I met all three of these ladies at work. And all three of them have become very special to me. I have a very hard time opening up to people – ask any friend I have, especially the friends I made after high school. I don’t like to put my problems or burdens or whatever else on anyone else. Though I want my loved ones to do that to me. I want to help them. Yeah, I know. Anyway, they were all great at letting me have my space while still reaching out to me & cultivating a friendship. The first time I really felt how strong of a friendship it was was when I came back to work after my dad died. The three of them were there for me. It’s that simple. I didn’t want to talk about it, especially at first, but I knew that when the time came, I could talk to them. Tienna & Adriene were the first people, other than my mom, that I really talked to about my depression. That was a really big deal for me…I can’t even begin to tell you.

And as time passes, I feel we just become closer. All of us. I love spending time wtih them, playing card games that are going to send us to hell, geeking out about The Walking Dead and Doctor Who with Adriene, talking about books (and often sharing them)…the list goes on. And I am truly thankful for each one of them. I feel like myself with them & I hope to never take any one of them for granted. By the way, ladies – we really need reschedule our sleepover extravaganza ASAP!

May 6th – If you couldn’t answer with your current job, what would be my answer to the question “What do you do?”

Oh, gosh. Really? REALLY?! I don’t think I need to re-hash all of this again, so my answer is ?. Yes, just ?. See my previous post if you wouldn’t like a more in-depth answer.

Do I have anything else today? I can’t remember. The migraine may be gone, but the migraine fog lingers and screws with my concentration. So I’m just gonna call it a day.

Live long and prosper.

wpid-preview-21.png

One comment

  1. Tienna · May 6, 2013

    Ok I have like 20 things to comment on – 1st. I’ve never seen War Horse. I also get way too attached to animals – especially in movies made specifically about them – so there is no way I will ever put myself through watching it. When you said it was worse than Marley and Me – heck to the no…that movie destroyed a part of my soul – I cried for hours and hours. I literally got mad at Tony for not sensing my grief in his sleep. I’m not kidding. So thanks for posting about it – a good cry is a nice cleanser for the soul, but not one that breaks something inside you. Like you’re freakin’ heart!

    2. I love that I made it to your post!! And that you love me. And us. And that we’ve all managed to bond over the last couple of years. And you’re totally right about our sleepover. I’ve got some ideas…I’ll share but not over the blogosphere. Haha!

    Ok, that’s only 2 comments, not 20. But – I do love you back!! That totally makes it 3. Booyah!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

