Hello again!

*I was just made aware that this posted Saturday night instead of saving as draft…oops! (Thanks Mom, otherwise I wouldn’t have known :))

This was a good weekend. I’ve been in an excellent mood, which isn’t really something I say very often – I’ve been in a generally good mood the last couple of months, but “excellent” is another story.

Saturday, I cleaned, did laundry, and made a trip to  Old Navy with the plan of looking for cardigans (which I found & on sale at that) and maxi skirts (which I didn’t find, much to my dismay). While I was there, I saw the one and only pair of jeans they make that I really like, so I thought I would grab a size smaller just to see how they fit – mine have been pretty lose, so why not? Results – I WENT DOWN A PANTS SIZE!!! Go me! I still have a ways to go, but it feels really good that in just two or three weeks, I’ve gone down a size. Definitely motivation to keep going.

On top of that, I made some delicious chicken for dinner – Indian-spiced grilled chicken breast. It was so yummy. I didn’t measure or exactly follow the recipe–but then again I never do–so this is close as I can get (this us for 2 chicken breasts, though you could easily add 1 or 2 more and there would be still be enough marinade ):

20130511_171940

  • 1 tsp. each of ground turmeric, ground coriander, and cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste (I’d start with about 1/2 to 1 tsp each and go from there)
  • fresh cilantro, as much or as little as you like – I personally love cilantro
  • the juice from 1 lime, plus a little of the zest
  • about 1/2 tsp. each of ground ginger and curry powder
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 slice of onion, minced
  • a couple of Tbsp. of olive oil
  • about 1 Tbsp. plain Greek yogurt (or any plain yogurt; you can also leave it out and just add a little more olive oil or even a little vinegar, though I recommend keeping it – it makes the chicken really moist & locks in the juiciness)

You just whisk everything together in a bowl and you can either 1. add the chicken and mix it with your hands (my preferred method) then transfer it to a plastic bag, or 2. you can put the marinade & the chicken in the bag & coat. Either way, let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, or overnight, then grill away! Or bake, I’m sure that would be just as good! And feel free to tweak it, I always do.

In other, nerdier, news: IT’S FINALLY STAR TREK WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it…completely unrelated, but every time I hear or think that song, I simultaneously picture Bubble Bee and Jessie Spano. Anyway, back to the point! I AM crazy excited to see this. I’ve been anticipating it for so long, and it’s hear! It’s like Christmas in May! I seriously contemplated going to the midnight release on Wednesday, but the logical/responsible/sensible part of my brain talked the rest of my brain out of it, since work would have to follow the next morning.

Speaking of awesome movies, I went and saw Iron Man 3 Saturday night, and, of course, loved it! Well worth it. Tuesday night, I’m going to see The Great Gatsby, either by myself or with the lovely Tienna, I’m not sure yet. Either way, I’m looking forward to it because I love Baz Luhrman’s films, and Carrie Mulligan, and Gatsby is one of my favorite, favorite books, so I’m hoping I’m not disappointing with his adaptation.

Moving on, I’m seriously behind the bog every day challenge topics, so bare with me as I try and catch up (I’m skipping a few):

Day 12: What/who do you miss?

Well, that’s easy. Mine’s a who, actually, two whos: my dad & my baby, Wyatt. (Dog baby not baby baby). Christmas 2011 was the last time I saw my dad, and Christmas 2012 was the last time I saw my baby boy because he was staying with my mom & David. Needlessness to say, Christmas is a touchy time for me now. Anyway, I miss both of them every day. Wyatt was the first puppy I ever raised, all my other dogs were adopted when they where older. And as difficult as he was (and let me tell, he was, just as the two holes in my walls), I miss that little stinker. It breaks to my heart to think about it, so I’m moving on from this subject. I’m doing much better with it all, but if I dwell on it for too long, I will start slipping, and I don’t want that.

Day 13: Issue a public apology:

I can’t think of anything that I feel I need to apologize for. I would be apologizing for just being me, and I’m done with that. It’s that I want to intentionally hurt people’s feelings or anything of that nature, but I”m so beyond over constantly worrying about it. I’ve decided I am who I am (though I don’t know exactly who all that is yet), and you can either love all of my for that or not. It’s pretty simple. When the need arises for me to apologize for something, then I will. But until then…:)

Actually, I just thought of something: Grant & Cynthia & Baby Walter, I’m SO sorry I haven’t made it to see you yet! I’m coming, I promise! Every time I think I’m going to make it something comes up! But I WILL be there soon! It’s ridiculous how difficult it can be just to drive and hour and half south!

I feel like there was something else I wanted to included in this post, but the ol’ brain can’t remember what it was. So, another time, another place.

I’m going to get back to my fruit, then back to work.

“Please, Captain, not in front of the Klingons.”

preview-7

Leave a Reply

