Top Ten Day! (And Gatsby!!)

Yes, my friends! It’s Top Ten Tuesday brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, AND today if the day that Tienna & I go see The Great Gatsby! I hope today goes by fast, because I’m ready to see the movie!

Today’s top ten subject is: top ten books dealing with tough issues. I don’t think I’ve got ten, at the moment I can only think of one, actually. But I will do me best!

  1. Saving Max by Antoinette van Heugten – I don’t remember much about this book, actually, but it’s about a single mother (a lawyer) whose 12-year-old  son, who has Asberger’s, is accused of murdering a fellow patient at a psychiatric hospital, which she tries to disprove. 
  2. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay – this book is set in France, both in the present, and in WWII, and, therefore, it deals with the Nazi occupation of France. Good book, not great, but worth a read.
  3. Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – I don’t think one needs a description.
  4. Night by Elie Wiesel – Wiesel’s memoir about surviving Nazi concentration camps is must read. Such a powerful, and very tough, read. I don’t think I’ve read it since high school (though I should re-read it), but it has always stuck with me…much like the next book on the list.
  5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – one of my all-time favorites, this one I have re-read many times since high school. I read it about once a year, it seems. It’s a powerful book, another must-read for every human being in my opinion.
  6. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – another one dealing with racism in the South – a part of our history that makes me cringe, especially seeing as I’m a Southerner. I couldn’t put this book down, literally. I stayed up all night reading it the first time.
  7. Penpal by Dathan Auerbach – this is definitely a tough one to get through, more so than I expected. We read this for bookclub, and I think we all were horrified by it. I don’t want to give anything away, because I still recommend reading it – it’s about a man who tries to relive/piece together his childhood in order to better understand it, and what he discovers along the way.
  8. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – if you haven’t read this, or at least seen the movie, you should: now. I do not want to reveal anything to you, because the way that it is revealed in the book/movie is exactly how it should be done. If you have read it/watched it, then you know what issues are involved & should see why this book is on my list. Seriously, read it.

Well, it’s not quite ten, but it’s better than my original one.

In anticipation of my weekly musical post tomorrow, is there any specific type of music anyone would like to hear? I’m trying to decide between a few artists but it’s not easy! They all should be shared (and eventually will, I’m sure).

Moving on to the blogging challenge for today, the topic is ten things that make me happy:

  1. My babies – Buster, Duke and Ellie May.
  2. Music – especially finding new music to fall in love with.
  3. Books/Reading – new books, old books, the smell, the look, the feel…all of it. It’s like magic.
  4. Films – classics, blockbusters, indie, noir, comedy, drama, horror, romance, you name it, I probably like it, or have at least seen it.
  5. Rain – it’s peaceful. And I love the smell, and the sound, and everything about it really.
  6. Cooking – getting in the kitchen and creating something. It’s always fun. Except for the cleanup.
  7. My friends & family – the people I love the most. You probably know who you are.
  8. Losing weight/getting healthy – need I say more?
  9. London/England – anything remotely attached to England, or London specifically, always takes me to a happy place.
  10. The dream of going to Ireland someday – I will go. Just wait and see.

 

One comment

  1. Holly P. · May 14, 2013

    I loved The Help! I read it in just a couple days the first time I read it. I’m jealous of you and Tienna, I want to see The Great Gatsby! Let us know how it is please 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

