Earth Will Fall.

Oh yes, I’m going to see Star Trek TODAY! This afternoon, in fact. And, yes, I did use two of my precious personal vacation hours to take off work early so I can go see Star Trek. Don’t judge me! I can’t wait any longer! The anticipation is going to kill me. I have no doubts that it will  be time well spent.

star-trek-into-darkness-2-poster-404x600

By the way, I’m currently obsessed with “Young & Beautiful” by Lana Del Rey (it’s off of the Gatsby soundtrack). I couldn’t name a single song by her other than this, nor do I plan on listening to more of her music. But this song, I love. I was just going to include that particular song, but instead, I shall share my “Favorites Right Now” playlist. Double-dose of music this week. You should thank me :).

Last night, after Adriene, her aunt Acacia, and I finished Acacia’s wedding invites, I watched series 1 of Wallander, which I’ve wanted to watch for quite some time now. It’s based on the Swedish novels, and it starts Kenneth Brannagh as Det. Kurt Wallander. I really liked it. In fact, the DVDs are on their way back to Netflix today so I will series 2 to watch on Saturday. Be jealous. I feel like almost everything I’ve been watching lately is British. I like it ;). If only I had BBC America…stupid satellite provider making you pay another $15/month when you want ONE more channel!

You know how yesterday I said I was going to do the blog challenge today, because I had to take picture for it? Well, I didn’t. So I’m skipping it. But I do have today’s – the topic is: something difficult about my “lot in life” and how I working to overcome it/deal with it.

I guess the hardest thing I’ve had to deal with in my life is the sudden loss of my dad. Something that I never expected to happen until he & I were much older – definitely not when I was 24 years old and he was only 43. I won’t go all into it, you can read about it more in-depth here if you want too. To say it was hard, or bad, or dark is the understatement of my life. It presented many extremely difficult issues for me to deal with – things that I am still trying to work through. One of the things I have do to work through it all is get on medication–antidepressants–to help keep some of the overwhelming darkness/nothingness at bay. Positive thinking only goes so far, at least for me. On top of that, I try and focus on the good memories, and on the things that I have to look forward to in my life. And I focus on the loved ones I have around me. And I try and do the things that I love, and I write about what I’m feeling, and I try not to keep everything inside like I have always done. It’s a process that I will probably work on the rest of my life. And that’s ok.

Did I mention that  I’m going to see STAR TREK this afternoon? I did? Oh, well, I just wanted to make sure you knew. You know, just in case the zombie apocalypse happens today/Zaphod Beeblebrox decides to blow up Earth/the Chitauri attack again, you know where I am.

Fascinating.

preview-4

 

 

Leave a Reply

