Top Ten Tuesday, The Weekend, Music Wednesday,…

Summer has reared it’s ugly head in Oklahoma, and I’m already praying for Fall. Could be partly because my A/C picked the hottest week (which is actually fairly mild by Oklahoma-summer standards) yet to not turn on. Yep. Yesterday was the first day I used tried to use it–I’ve just been opening the windows at night and it’s worked out pretty well–I was putting off turning the A/C on until absolutely necessary because it’s not exactly the most energy-efficient system on the planet. I guess I can add this to the list I previously mentioned of “things that Sydney needs to do but doesn’t really have the funds to do them.” The life of a home owner. This one can’t wait, though – if you know me, I need not explain. For those of you who don’t actually know me, I’m extremely hot-natured (which is why I hate summer weather, especially summer weather in Oklahoma) and will not survive the week without air conditioning. So please say a little prayer that it’s an easy and inexpensive fix, otherwise I may have to follow in Jo’s footsteps:

I had a pretty great weekend. Saturday night was Book Club which involved very good food made by the lovely Tienna, drinks, a game I don’t remember the name of that was hilarious and fun, a quick little side-trip involving sidewalk chalk, and a bit of Rock Band. We didn’t talk about the book much, but that seems to be the pattern. Either way, I think we all really enjoyed ourselves. I did. Of course, it took a day of being really lazy for me to recover from the late night–I didn’t get home until about 2am or so–but it was worth it. It gave me an excuse to watch all of the Swedish Millennium series movies (i.e. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) that I recorded Friday night and was too tired to watch. Why I’ve never bought them, I don’t know. I love them.

What else? I loved the Tony Awards and I’m dying to see Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike and Pippin in particular. And then there was the Game of Thrones finale. It was good, I liked it, but I was expecting more. Jamie finally made it back to the Red Keep and his sister-lover (though hopefully just sister from now on, as I’m heartily pulling for a Jamie-Brienne hook-up), Arya killed a guy, Ramsay sent Balon & Yara Theon’s favorite appendage in a box spurring Yara to go on a rescue mission for her disgraced brother, Tyrion may try and knock-up his young stark bride Sansa after all, Ygritte nearly killed Jon–by the way, if Jon dies, heads will roll–and the White Walkers are back and are coming for all the people of Westeros. I think that’s most of the highpoints (or lowpoints, depending on how you look at things). So, there was quite a bit of set-up for Season 4. I like that. BUT it was a bit anticlimactic, yes? Especially after the Red Wedding last week, which would be difficult to top, but still…something was missing. I shouldn’t be surprised, I guess, because this season hasn’t been my favorite. Overall, with a few obvious exceptions, it was a little blah compared to the previous two. And when the hell is Daenerys going to get to Westeros already?! I know the dragons have to grow up and she has to finish building an army and everything, but I’m not a patient person, and three season seems likes enough time.

GoT ending means that True Blood starts this Sunday, which I’m very happy about. (I’m hoping it’s not the final season as rumored–the last book and the last season happening all in the same year is just not right.) Also, Pretty Little Liars premieres tonight (don’t judge – I avoided it for about two years then broken down and rented it and became obsessed). And next Sunday, the new series of Copper starts on BBC America. I just Netflixed series 1 to watch this week. I’m so glad I’m only one cycle behind. I have way too many shows and movies to catch up on as it is (namely Doctor Who and The Killing).

Oh, yeah, it’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is top ten beach reads. I had a very hard time with this, because most of what I’ve read I would really call a “beach” read. Therefore, I decided to list ten books on my “To Read” list that I think would make good beach reads:

Fotor06129538

  1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  2. Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin
  3. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
  4. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler
  5. The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank
  6. Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close
  7. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  8. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
  9. Chocolat by Joanne Harris
  10. A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

And that was all actually written yesterday, but I had to ditch it to go meet the technician who thankfully fixed my A/C yesterday! And it didn’t cost a fortune (it’s wasn’t exactly cheap either, but at least it’s fixed and it was doable). So this is really two posts in one.

Other than getting my A/C fixed, Adriene, Tienna & I (and Tienna’s hubby Tony) made these for Adriene’s aunt’s wedding this weekend:

20130611_203507-1

It was fun. And we got it done in about two hours.

In other news…actually I don’t have much else. We did officially find out that not only do we get off work on July 4th, but we also get the 5th off, which is amazeballs.

It would seem the only thing left for today is the music. And it’s pretty awesome. And if you’ve ever seen Garden State, then you should already know who these guys are. Enjoy.

preview-7

Leave a Reply

