It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!

Yep, I’m ready to get back into Top Ten Tuesday after two weeks of not participating. This week is top 10 books that intimidate you. It can be the size, the content, the fact that everyone else in the world seems to love it but you don’t…pretty much any reasoning. Here goes nothing:

  1. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger – This had to be the first book on this list for the third reason listed above – most of the world loves this book and I hate it. I think it’s more frustrating than intimidating, but oh well. I don’t understand how Holden Caulfield–mainly the way he talks–doesn’t annoy the hell of everyone else like it does me.
  2. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I love classics, but I’ve never read this because of the massive size of it. And I like big, long books generally. But this one just seems to be on another level.
  3. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien – don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love LOTR. But it is intimidating, especially the first time reading it – even though I was already familiar with the story. It’s the vast, detailed world that Tolkien created–the races, the languages, the landscapes, the histories–that is so brilliant and, therefore, utterly intimidating. I can only imagine what it would be like to create something like this.
  4. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett –  the size of it and the historically epic story (that moves a little slow at times) were intimidating to me at first, but it was well worth the read.
  5. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson – this is one I picked up 1027 times before I ever actually bought it. I knew a bit about the story and, at the time, I was intimidated by the modernness of the story, namely the bisexual protagonist. This was at the time when I was struggling the most with what my feelings towards homosexuality really were, so reading a story surrounding a bisexual, angry, kind of gothic girl involving serial murder and all that stuff was definitely intimidating. Of course, then I read it and I love the series, and Lisbeth is pretty bad-ass.
  6. Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell – I saw the movie before I read the book, so I knew the story & I loved it, but the size of the book was what got me.
  7. The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank – this one is definitely the content: knowing that it’s all real, that she recorded the horror that she went though, and knowing she didn’t survive it…
  8. Night by Elie Wiesel – same as above, it’s the content of this one. It’s the realness – he is describing what he went through as he experienced, firsthand, the horrors of the Holocaust.
  9. The Odyssey by Homer – This one is size and content. First off, I love history and have always been a little fascinated with Greek history, mostly due to be obsession with mythology, so in high school I was excited to finally get to read this. But this is such an epic story, with so much in it, it’s bound to be on alot of people’s intimidating books list.

I know it’s only nine, but that’s all I could come up with.

“It’s not Tuesday, it’s Thursday.”

Architects Daughter Testdrive

One comment

  1. Ciara_H · July 2, 2013

    I have LOTR & The Pillars of the Earth on my list too. Gone with the Wind is on my TBR list but I keep putting it off, probably due to the size of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

