It’s August! Guess what that means?!

That’s right! It’ s my birthday month! (And my mom’s, and my aunt’s, and a few friends, and some cousins, and there are some anniversaries thrown in there, too.)

Someone–who shall remain nameless–will be 26 in a mere 18 days.

Now that that’s out of the way – I’m sorry I missed MYSKW yesterday, it’s been a busy week, and I just haven’t had much time, or energy, to devote to the blog. This week’s will just have to become Music You Should Know Thursday instead (which I will post later today – as soon as I actually pick some music). And I promise my Cara Box reveal is coming! I keep forgetting to take pictures of everything, but it will be up by the end of the weekend if it kills me.

I did get some Doctor Who in last night, and I will finish series 4 and start series 5 by the end of this weekend. Donna getting her brain erased of all things Doctor was heart-wrenching. Not as bad as Doomsday, but bad enough to make me cry. My progress is bittersweet – I’m excited to finally get to the current (though not for long) Doctor in Matt Smith, but I do not want to leave David Tennant.

Let’s see, in other news – my boss was getting rid of a bunch of fabric remnants his wife had left over from making what must have been hundreds of pillow (there was alot), and he let us go through it all & take whatever we wanted. I scored – I got some really pretty fabric that I plan on making pillows out of–all in shades of purple & deep pink & brown. And they all fit my boho style well. A few pieces of a pretty purple velvet damask were really long but not very wide, so I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them – until I got home. Then the light bulb went off & this is the finished product:

image

Fabric covered journal

Isn’t it cute?! It’s not perfect – but I learned a few things along the way to make it easier next time. And I am sure there will be a next time. Probably many. I had fun doing this. Here is a picture of the inside cover:

image

The pages were from an old journal that Wyatt had gotten a hold of. I knew I was keeping them for a reason. It just took a year for that reason to appear.

What else is going on in my world?

Last week was my first flex-time experience at work. The verdict: I loved it. I went home, read a little, watched a little One Tree Hill & Supernatural, and then I took myself a little nap. And it was glorious.

This weekend–Saturday to be exact–well, 6pm Saturday evening to be even more precise–I am hosting book club! I’m excited because it gives me an excuse to cook the things I always talk myself out of because I am only one person. I like leftovers, but when they last you over a week, it starts to get a little boring. Anyway – excited to cook and bake and make sangria. And talk about our book, of course. That is, if I finish it on time. We are reading The Rook by Daniel O’Malley, and I really like it. I’ve wanted to read it for a long time now. I’ve just been so tired, every time I sit down to read it my eyes get heavy, then as soon as I lay down, I wide awake again. As a result, I now have about 2 days to read the second half of the book. Normally, I can easily do this, especially with a book I really like, such as this one. Lack of sleep ruins everything. It’s getting to the point that I may have to start taking sleeping pills again, which I really don’t want to do.

The only downside to people coming over on Saturday –well there are two actually because Adriene can’t make :(–is that my back yard desperately needs to be mowed because it was still too wet last weekend, the dogs all really need baths, and I have alot of cleaning to do because I have been pretty lazy on that front this week. That’s probably what I should do in the middle of the night…ah, who am I kidding.

I think the only thing that I have left for this post is about the new UNICEF campeign, #ENDviolence. So watch this PSA featuring Liam Neeson, read the blurb below, and spread the word!

NEXT GEN: UNICEF’s Global Violence Against Children initiative is officially launching RIGHT NOW and we need your help! fight

You may not see it, but it’s happening. Bullying. Abuse. Exploitation.  Children deserve a better world — a world where they are safe, protected and empowered. Make the Invisible Visible.

We’ve all been horrified by recent acts of unspeakable violence. The murders of pre-schoolers in China. The shooting of Malala Yousafzai in Pakistan. The massacre of school kids in Connecticut.

1375295087685

But most of the time, violence against children is invisible, silently destroying childhoods every day. It takes place in every setting: public and private, urban and rural, industrialized and developing, rich and poor. To stop it — and make a better world for children everywhere — we need to shine a spotlight on the problem wherever it occurs.

7/29—8/4: Promote our #ENDviolence PSA & “Stamp It Out” Photo Contest

What’s happening: Today UNICEF is launching its global initiative to generate momentum in preventing and responding to violence against children. Help the U.S. Fund spread the word by sharing our new #ENDviolence PSA featuring Liam Neeson.

What you can do:

     Share our #ENDviolence PSA and encourage your followers to do the same.

     Participate in UNICEF’s “Stamp It Out” Photo Contest.

     After watching the PSA, show that you take a stand against violence by taking a picture of yourself with an #ENDviolence sign. Make sure you tag your tweet, or Instagram photo with #ENDviolence and @UNICEFUSA and @UNICEFNextGen so we know to include it in our album! Facebook photos can be posted to our wall. The UNICEF contest begins on 7/31 and ends 8/14. Contest rules: http://uni.cf/stampit.  You can support UNICEF”s #ENDviolence Stamp it Out Photo Contest by uploading an image using the #ENDviolence hashtag. You can write it on your hand, paste it on a shirt, embed the hashtag in a photo and then upload the image to www.facebook.com/unicefusa.

That’s all for now, folks. I shall return hopefully later today with some ear candy..

wpid-preview-18.png

Leave a Reply

