Top Ten Tuesday

Hiya!

That comes off quite a bit cheerier than I actually am, but that’s the beauty of blogging – you can’t see me or hear me. Moving on, it’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broken and the Bookish, again. This week is top ten books you wish had a sequel. This was a bit of a challenge for me, only because I read ALOT of series & they, obviously, already have sequels. It’s taken some searching through my very muddled brain, but here’s what I eventially came up with:

Fotor0806125810

  1. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – this book makes it onto my TTT lists quite often because i truly love it, and because of that, I would kill for a sequel. I want so badly to continue on with the characters and the places and the story…everything about the book. As soon as I start re-reading it, I start dreading the end because I don’t want to leave the world that Kostova has created for me.
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Who doesn’t want to know what happens next? What kind of people fo Scout and Jem grow up to be? Do either of them follow in Atticus’s footsteps and become a lawyer? Do they march with Dr. King for civil rights? Do they get married and have kids? Do they stay in Maycomb or do they move off? And what about Atticus? And Boo? And everyone else, for that matter.
  3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I desperately want to know what the rest of Jane & Mr. Rochester’s life was like together. I want all the minute details because theirs is, in my humble opinion, one of the greatest love stories ever recorded.
  4. Pride & Prejudice/Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen – Keeping on the theme of greatest love stories, how can I not want to continue on with these as well?
  5. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness – OK, technically, yes, there is a sequel in the works for this sequel, but I’m impatient and I want it now!
  6. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – What is life like for Amy and Nick after they have the baby? Do they end up staying together? How does their child turn out with two nutjobs as parents? Does one end up killing the other in their sleep? Do the kid end up killing both parents? There are just so many ways their lives could play out…
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – I’m pretty sure any HP fan will have this on their list. How could you not? I don’t care that there are seven books, I would devour seven more! Hell, I would devour 700 more.
  8. The Host by Stephanie Meyer – I liked this book and would like to see what happens with Wanda & Ian and Melanie & Jared. Do the Souls come after them again? Do they spend the rest of their lives in the desert? What happens next?
  9. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – This one could actually happen. The Gaiman has said before it could. And I sure hope it does. I want more of London Below (or NYC Below or wherever), and I want to know what Richard’s life became in London Below. I want to see the relationship between Richard and Door grow. I just want more. Is that too much to ask?

I’m a little surprised I came up with 10 books. I deem this a success. And on that bombshell…

preview-7

6 comments

  1. Tiffany · August 6, 2013

    Gone Girl has been talked about so much, I need to pick it up from the bookstore! Great list!

    Like

    • sydneyday · August 6, 2013

      Thanks! And you definitely should, especially before the movie comes out! It’s worth it!

      Like

  2. megan · August 6, 2013

    I am so annoyed that there isn’t a sequel to The Host! Maybe now that all the Twilight movies are done she can go back to writing books? Thanks for sharing! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1BN

    Like

  3. Caitlin · August 6, 2013

    HP and P&P made my list for the same reasons 😉

    Cait x

    Like

  4. I AM STILL WAITING FOR A THIRD BOOK FOR DISCOVERY OF WITCHES!!! Love those books!!!

    My TTT

    Like

    • sydneyday · August 7, 2013

      I know! It’s killing me! Totally love them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

