A to Z

AtoZsurveyToday’s post idea started with a post I saw yesterday on Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books. It as an A to Z bookish survey. Since I wasn’t planning on doing a Blogtember post today, it got me thinking – maybe I could do an A to Z themed post, and do two or three A to Z surveys? So that’s what I’m doing :).

First up is A to Z, Bookish Me!

Author you’ve read the most books by?

Discounting series, it’s either Jane Austen or Tana French, probably. Including series, it’s would probably be J.K. Rowling.

Best Sequel ever?

This is difficult, since I read so many series, but I think I’m going to to go with either Shadow of Night, the sequel to Discovery of Witches, or Son of A Witch, the sequel to Wicked.

Currently reading?

City of Bones by Cassandra Claire, Broken Harbor by Tana French, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Magicians by Lev Grossman, and Jane Eyre.

Drink of choice while reading?

Usually coffee or wine, sometimes tea (the one kind of hot tea that I actually like).

E-reader or physical book?

Though I have a Kindle, and I like it, I will always prefer the physical book. You can’t beat it.

Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school?

I would like to think Four from Divergent. But who cares about high school?! I want Matthew Clairmont from DoW, or Fitzwilliam Darcy, of course.

Glad you gave this book a chance?

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I ended up completely loving this series. I so wish it could have continued like it was planned.

Hidden gem book?

I don’t know if this qualifies or not, I don’t personally know anyone who has read it, so I’m going with The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Important moment in your reading life?

Probably the first time I read each of these: Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, The Great Gatsby, and To Kill A Mockingbird.

Just finished?

I think The Ocean at the End of the Lane was the last book I finished.

Kinds of books you won’t read?

I don’t like straight romance novels or most memoirs or erotica (the one book I attempted to read). Other than that, I will give just about any genre a try.

Longest book you’ve ever read?

Umm…it’s either Gone With The Wind, or The Lord of the Rings which I read all as one book, like it’s supposed to be.

Major book hangover because of?

Where do I even begin?! All Souls books, the Twilight series the first time I read them, Harry Potter of course, and Hunger Games series.

Number of bookcases you own?

I actually only have one, I desperately need more. That’s why I have books stacked on just about every flat surface in my house, other than the floor.

One book you have read multiple times?

It’s impossible to just pick one, so I picked five: The Historian, Jane Eyre, The Great Gatsby, Discovery of Witches, and Pride and Prejudice.

Preferred place to read?

On my couch, wearing leggings, a big t-shirt & a long cardigan, when it’s cold & rainy/snowy, with the fireplace lit & a cup of coffee.

Quote that inspires you/gives you the feels from a book you’ve read?

I’m quote obsessed, especially quotes from books, so I’m afraid I chose more than one. And I’m not sorry, either:

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever are souls are made of, his and mine are the same.” – Wuthering Heights

“For the first time, I had been struck by the excitement of the traveler who looks history in her subtle face.” – The Historian

“It is not time or opportunity that is to determine intimacy; it is disposition alone. Seven years would be insufficient to make some people acquainted with each other, and seven days are more than enough for others.” – Sense and Sensibility

Reading regret?

Not reading The Perks of Being A Wallflower in high school.

Series you started and need to finish?

A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

Three all-time faves?

Who can only pick three?! The Historian, Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, To Kill A Mockingbird, Discovery of Witches…I’ll stop at six, I guess.

Unapologetic fangirl of?

All Souls Trilogy

Very excited for this release more than others?

The third book in the All Souls trilogy.

Worst bookish habit?

I honestly can’t think of anything right now…

X-marks the spot: Start at the top left corner of your shelf & name the 27th book.

Dubliners by James Joyce

Your latest book purchase?

I think the last books I bought were The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones and The Ocean at The End of The Lane. But I plan on buying a new one tomorrow, either Burial Rights by Hannah Kent, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black by E.B. Hudspeth, or Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. If only I could get them all…

ZZZ snatcher: last book you stayed up way too late to finish?

It must have been The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………

And this one is more generalized:

Age?

26

Birth order?

I’m the oldest.

Cake or pie?

Definitely pie. I hate cake.

Dream job?

I want to be be my own boss & be able to work from anywhere.

Essential item?

My earbuds.

Favorite color(s)?

Plum, cobalt blue, midnight blue, turquoise, burnt orange

Gummies: bears or worms?

Worms are more fun.

Hometown?

Waurika, OK

Indulgence?

Umm…a Starbucks latte every now and again?

January or July?

Weather-wise, most definitely January.

Kids?

I have three canine children – Buster, Duke, and Ellie. Someday I want a few human mini-mes running around, but not for a little while I don’t think.

Life isn’t complete without?

My kiddos.

Most recent way you spent money?

Groceries.

Number of siblings/books on your to-read list?

I have two brothers: Robert & William, and then I have three step-siblings: Shelby, Davida, and J.D.  The number of books on my to read list currently stands at 576.

Oranges or apples?

Apples

Phobias?

Public speaking, or just about anything where the attention is focused on me. And snakes.

Quote?

“Time is very slow for those who wait, very fast for those who are scared; very long for those who lament, very short for those who celebrate. But for those who love, time is eternal.” – William Shakespeare

Random fact about yourself?

Let’s see…I have always dreamed of having big, long, full, wild, red curly hair. Think Merida.

Season of choice?

Autumn, with Winter a close second.

Treat: what’s your favorite?

Pumpkin and/or apple pie.

Unknown fact about me?

I would love to be a cosplayer.

Vanilla or chocolate?

That really depends on what we are talking about…

Worst book ever read?

I think I’m going to have to do with 50 Shades of Gray. I didn’t even get halfway through it. I kept editing it, correcting the grammar, rearranging sentences & paragraphs, etc. the whole time.

X-rays: how many have you had?

Two, I think.

Yo-yo or Rubik’s cube?

Rubik’s cube. I like puzzles.

Zodiac sign(s)?

Leo/Rabbit

And I’m done for the day! But before I go, I have to wish a very happy EIGHTEENTH birthday to my cousin, Cassidy! I love you so much!!

.facebook_637632606

Leave a Reply

