Don’t sit down cause I’ve moved your chair.

Thank the heavens it’s Friday & I have the afternoon off! What are my plans, you ask? This: going home, getting back into my leggings, oversize t-shirt & favorite comfy cardigan, starting a fire, & binge-watching the countless hours of festival footage that have been piling up on my DVR thanks to Palladia. And I might have to have a John Hughes marathon, and I might read. But that last one’s pretty up in the air since I haven’t really been in a reading mood lately. Music has been occupying the vast majority of my time. I didn’t even watch The Vampire Diaries or Reign last night because I was re-watching Glastonbury 2009. I don’t know why I keep watching all this festival footage, all it does is make me sad that I wasn’t there and that I probably won’t be there again this year. AND they are already advertising for this years festivals–starting with Hangout–it’s cruel, really.

Like I said, music has been occupying most of my free time lately (both conscious and unconscious, apparently). I’ve mostly been in a rock mood as of late. And by “rock” I mean all of it – classic, punk, grunge, post punk, alternative, indie…the list goes on. The 1975 are still the most prominent – there album hasn’t left my cars CD player in I don’t even know how long. And I’m still not sick of it. It’s one of the rare few that I listen to straight-thru. There isn’t a bad or even just OK song on it or any of their EPs. I cannot wait to finally be able to see them live in Tulsa in May.

Other than the boys from Manchester, these are the artists that have taken residence in my ears (If you are unfamiliar with any of these, I suggest going to iTunes/Spotify/SoundCloud/YouTube/RDIO/etc. immediately. I suggested one or two of my favorite songs by each):

  1. The VaccinesNorgaard and Post Break-Up Sex
  2. BastilleLaura Palmer and Icarus
  3. CHVRCHESThe Mother We Share and We Sink
  4. Arctic MonkeysArabella, Little Illusion Machine, Crying Lightening, Electricity, and Don’t Sit Down Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
  5. The Clash‘s Should I Stay or Should I Go
  6. RooneyI’m Shakin’ and I’m A Terrible Person
  7. DeftonesChange
  8. The NBHD (The Neighbourhood) – Afraid and Sweater Weather
  9. Gary Clark Jr.‘s Numb
  10. Sex Pistols Anarchy in the UK and My Way
  11. HaimMy Song 5 and Days Are Gone
  12. The StrokesLast Night
  13. RamonesSheen Is A Punk Rocker and I Wanna Be Sedated
  14. MonaCloak and Dagger and Shooting the Moon
  15. RefusedNew Noise and The Shape of Punk to Come
  16. Def Havana‘s Mildred
  17. The KinksLola and All Day And All Night
  18. The SmithsPanic & London
  19. And for when I’m feeling a change of pace, London Grammar‘s Strong and KodalineAll I Want and Pray

But I can’t keep out the Indie-folk that I love so much. It finds me. Just this very morning, I came across someone new in the that I really like: Austin Plaine. He’s a 22-yr. old singer-songwriter who followed me on Twitter. So, I decided I would check out his music. Needless to say, I followed him back & am now following him on SoundCloud. Give his EP a listen & follow him on Twitter and/or SoundCloud! Oh, and you can buy his EP on iTunes.

And I think today’s music lesson is complete.

5093962aed14fbc724b43b7c6e1c2f6b

Leave a Reply

