Rather be.

Is it really only Tuesday?! Because it feels like it should be Thursday. I even keep re-checking the calender, just to make sure. So far, it’s still Tuesday. And the only good thing about that, is that it’s Live Lounge day on Radio 1, and today was The 1975. And it was glorious, as expected. And next week should be pretty awesome, too. But more on Live Lounge later.

The Brit Awards are tomorrow, and I was pretty sad that I wasn’t going to be able to watch. But thankfully, the Brits are going to be broadcast LIVE on YouTube! It’s going to be in the middle of the afternoon, so I won’t really get to “watch” it, but at the very least, I get to listen while I work. And hopefully clips of all of the performances will be available afterwards. Because I will be damned if I miss seeing the Arctic Monkeys opening the show. And Bastille. I’m looking forward to them, too.

Fearne Cotton’s show this morning on Radio 1 didn’t disappoint. She had a mostly smashing playlist going this morning. And it reminded me of an artist I’ve been meaning to share! Say hello to Mutual Benefit!  Jordan Lee & co. make beautiful, poetic music that feels amazing, and is just plain lovely. Their 7-track debut LP, Love Crushing Diamonds, is definitely worth a listen. I’m particularly fond of “Let’s Play/Statue of a Man,” and “The Light That’s Blinding,” as well as their single, “Advanced Falconry.” Check out Pitchfork’s proper review here.

Now, let’s get back to Live Lounge! It was fantastic. And why wouldn’t it be, with a sleep-deprived The 1975 performing? First up, they did a slightly different version of their trackSettle Down,” which was great. But then it was time for the mystery cover! (AKA the best part of Live Lounge.) I wasn’t sure if they could surpass their last cover in the Live Lounge, which was a better-than-the-original version of “What Makes You Beautiful.”

Verdict: it blew “What Makes You Beautiful” right out of the water. And I’m going to venture a guess and say that, for me at least, their version beats the original yet again. (I haven’t actually heard the original yet, but I have it pulled up & ready for a listen when I finish here.) So, without further ado, here is The 1975‘s phenomenal cover of Clean Bandit’s “Rather Be.”

I keep telling you: these guys are incredible. Have I convinced you yet?

ae3733258257ccef2eee2b20c77ac79a

Leave a Reply

