If Bon Iver & James Blake had a baby…

I’m so, completely over this week. I want it to just end already.

Now that I got that out, I want to introduce you to Icelandic singer-songwriter Ásgeir (pronunciation here).

If Bon Iver & James Blake, or the XX, were to have a musical lovechild, I swear it would be this guy. I downloaded The Toe Rag Session AcousticEP (which you can download for free, by the way, over at Noisetrade) last week & can’t stop listening to those three songs. I’m also a sucker for his Icelandic pronunciations of English words – it adds a little something to the beauty of the songs.

I’m going to kick things off with a couple of covers. First up is his cover of Miley’s “Wrecking Ball,” followed by a rather haunting, cover of Nirvana’s “Heart-Shaped Box,” both of which are, dare I say, fantastic.

Rounding things out is a lovely track called “Dreaming.”

 þangað til á morgun.

index

Leave a Reply

