Common knowledge.

This weekend went by much too quickly. I was not am not ready for it to be Monday.

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/67/7a/c7/677ac7cef6308e86b9707e69dd377664.jpg

This weekend, I finally got around to watching both Gravity and 12 Years A Slave. I’m not gonna lie, Gravity was a bit of a let down. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good movie & I liked it. Sandra Bullock was excellent in it. But it didn’t blow me away like I was expecting, especially after all the hoopla surrounding it. 12 Years A Slave, on the other hand, more than lived up to the praise surround it. It was an incredible, if difficult to watch, film. every, single performance was just amazing. So believable, disconcertingly so, especially in the case of Michael Fassbender.

Now on to a little music! Sigur Rós has done a version of The National’s “The Rains of Castamere” for the new season of Game of Thrones. (I thought I blogged about this a week or two ago, but apparently I just imagined that I did. Shame on me.) It’s quite something & I love it. I also love The National’s version, though.

I also watched the MusiCares tribute to Bruce Spingsteen this weekend, and this…this was amazing. And I can’t believe I haven’t come it before, in some form or another.

Conor Oberst debuted seven tracks of his upcoming album, Upside Down Mountain (out May 20th & I can’t wait). I’ve included one of the songs, “Common Knowledge” but you can see/hear all seven here.

index

Leave a Reply

