Blak & Blu.

I’m a big Gary Clark Jr. fan, and I can’t believe I haven’t really blogged about him before. This Austin native is crazy talented. His debut album, Blak and Blu, is a great record–top to bottom–and if you haven’t listened to it, then I highly suggest remedying that ASAP. My favorite song from the album changes (though I’m always partial to “Numb” and “Travis County” and “Bright Lights,” though I prefer the earlier EP version), but lately it’s “You Saved Me.” It’s a beautiful combination of blues, soul, and rock ‘n’ roll. I can’t get enough of it right now, which is evidenced by the fact that I have been listening to it on repeat for almost an hour and half – switching between the album version and various live performances.

Seriously, go listen to Blak and Blu, you won’t be sorry!

dj

Leave a Reply

