Living Out My Dreams.

Well, I’m stuck here in Nashville.
All my friends have grown up and gone.
As a boy, I thought I would get out of here,
But my boyhood dreams have proved me wrong.

Maybe God forgot to listen to prayers,
But I’m still waiting for that ace up his sleeve.
Until then, I’ll be a-waiting
Watching everyone else living out my dreams.

The bottle calls my name way too early these days,
My lungs are filling up with smoke.
Money’s not a problem yet,
But I’m scared it will be soon.
I never thought I’d be 25 and broke.

Maybe God forgot to listen to prayers,
But I’m still waiting for that ace up his sleeve.
Until then, I’ll be a-waiting
Watching everyone else living out my dreams.

What went wrong? What did I not do?
Was I put on a shelf, like a book you read in school,
Collecting dust…Years from now my pages,
They will fade and wrinkle without use.

Maybe God forgot to listen to prayers,
But I’m still waiting for that ace up his sleeve.

Leave a Reply

