Denial.

When the world around me doesn’t fit, when it doesn’t satisfy, I retreat to one of the countless worlds inside my head. There, things are as they should be. That’s not to say they are perfect – that would be boring. And they aren’t without adversity, either. But they offer a satisfaction with life that I can’t often find in the real world.

e707179ae81a46d7e212d445306ee773

I search for it. Constantly. And I find glimpses of it here and there. But most of the time, it eludes me. And after a while, my body, my mind, my soul needs respite somewhere I feel truly free. Is this denial? Maybe so. But I refuse to accept a lackluster reality. So I will keep searching. And until I find whatever it is I’m looking for, I will retreat into the worlds inside my head & be free.

Leave a comment